Skip to content

Ambition and Confidence

November 2, 2010

 

This picture made me think about the way children relate to images, and in particular, images of themselves. PH brought this picture of himself to school, and wanted to put it on our wall. 

I could be for Spain – I could hit the ball with my head and score 3 times.  We won!  I think that I could be Spain.

PH genuinly believes he will play professional football someday.  I admire the unfettered ambition of many students.  When children believe  in their skills, I hear confident declarations, “I am an artist” or “I am a football player.”  It seems that they rarely doubt themselves and their abilities if they have these ideas in their minds.  As a result, many push themselves to become better and develop new skills.

Sometimes fostering this confidence is simply a matter of acknowledging and taking interest in the work of the child. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

