Skip to content

Mess.

August 20, 2010

I don’t know what happened here – maybe a really good party that I missed out on?  I’ve certainly got my next two weeks of manual-labor cut out for me, preparing an thought provoking work environment for 22 people.  Let the seemingly endless game of furniture arrangement begin.

There’s so much to consider – one corner is loud because it’s near the gym, so quite areas can’t go there.  Messy activities need to go by the sink, and the light table needs to be somewhere with a plug.  I like to keep the room as spacious and open as possible, so I will try to use as little furniture as possible.  That’s the other thing – I don’t even know what our things are!  They’re packed away in these boxes, just waiting to be unleashed.

Here’s my plan:

  1. Find AC remote.  It’s really hot.
  2. Arrange the furniture
  3. Move out any furniture I’m not using into the hall
  4. Organize cupboards
  5. Unpack boxes.
  6. From the cupboard and boxes, decide what to put out in the room
  7. Cover bulletin boards in a nice neutral
  8. Gather addition supplies
  9. Arrange materials in classroom

I’m glad I started early.  Two weeks until the students come!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 3:39 am

    Good luck 🙂 I’m certain you will create a truly magical learning space. You have to show us pictures when it is all done (if you are not too exhausted!)

Leave a Reply

