Skip to content

From the Eyes of Children

January 26, 2010

I thought the camera we got for the kids would be fun but not thought provoking, and, frankly just another thing to keep up with that would create more work for me.  I was wrong.

After a brief and simple tutorial on the ins and outs of using the camera (we’re talking how to turn on, how to take a picture, how to turn it off) the camera circulated the hands of several students who were particularly interested.  They seemed to have a great time, but I had already dismissed the experience as something that would not create any meaningful experience or dialogue among children.

That afternoon, when I plugged the camera into the computer, I was shocked.  Suddenly, I was looking at pictures that captured moments that we teachers always attempt to catch but rarely get – pictures that capture the true nature of the child, that convey the meaning, learning and emotion of that moment.

The pictures from their camera see our classroom and community from a different perspective, and not just because they’re obviously shorter than adults.  The relationship between the photographer and subject are different, and it seems that this comes out very clearly in almost all of the pictures.

Although they’ve acclimated to us constantly taking their pictures in the classroom,  I think there’s something in these pictures that we are rarely able to capture as adults.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 3:29 pm

    We also use cameras in the classroom – it is such a wonderful tool!

  2. January 31, 2010 10:25 am

    Such a beautiful quality in these images.
    A few years ago I actively had children shoot images, I forgot how much power these images hold.
    Thanks

  3. June 21, 2010 10:28 pm

    I really like these photos – I can see exactly what you are talking about. It helps me remember what I’m endeavoring to do with my daughter. Thank you – love your blog.

Leave a Reply

