Skip to content

Journey of Learning, Part 2

October 14, 2011

So…after thinking about how a child’s journey of learning could be illustrated, I started thinking about my own learning. You know what?  I found it to be daunting to summarize ALL of my learning throughout my entire life.  That’s seriously a lot of learning.  Even to be able to write this now, I had to first learn how to speak, tell a story, understand letters/words/sentences/, write, type, operate a computer, etc.  It could go on forever!  Then, I tried paring it down to just my learning-to-be-a-teacher learning, but I found that it was not possible to separate my “professional learning” from any other “life learning.”  My knowledge of how help children master the alphabet is equally as valuable to my job as knowing when to give someone a hug.  Also, just for the record, I spent part of the day [lovingly] wiping up runny shit from a kid’s leg, and that was equally important to doing my job.  Seemingly, we need all kinds of  knowledge in every realm of our lives to be successful people.

This thought anchored in the belief that schools must teach to the “whole person,” without attempting to isolate one subject from another.  The more schools can integrate subjects, the better.

(Note: The boy with diarrhea is thankfully feeling much better now, and I like to think our relationship is better for the incident.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 3:36 am

    Can I just say I love you for writing this pos?! Thank you for the “realness.”
    I’m with you in joy and poop, lol and yes, it’s all one big experience.

  2. October 19, 2011 6:12 pm

    Agreed. You can’t separate the child who has the accident from the child who is trying to write down a word from the child who is trying to figure out how to enter play when they are all in the same body and mind.

    We’re all in this to facilitate children’s learning experiences – and we’ve all had to wipe shit up on the way!

  3. Neil permalink
    November 11, 2011 4:01 am

    the heart of intellectualism is asking why of yourself and doubting…you’re doing a great job

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

